Ben Johnson steps down as Tooting councillor: “great honour and an absolute pleasure”

image

On Thursday, with great regret, I stepped down as a councillor for Tooting Ward.

Serving the local community, and Tooting Labour Party, for these past six years has been a great honour and an absolute pleasure.

Our part of London is one of the most welcoming, diverse, and dynamic places to live in the country, and a place I continue to be proud to call my home.

However, in my professional life, I have accepted a new role as an advisor to our new Mayor of London, Sadiq Khan. Roles in public service such as this come with political restrictions, including a bar from holding elected office, and therefore in order to take on this new job I have had to resign from the Council.

I’m very sad to be leaving my role as a local councillor behind. Over the past six years, I’ve worked hard, alongside my fellow Labour councillors, to support local residents, businesses and voluntary organisations, and to protect them from the worst impacts of the enormous cuts being made to our local services.

I’ve enjoyed worked with local campaigns and charities to help make Tooting an even better place to live and work, and have always done my best to help those I have met who have had problems relating to housing, finance or the local area that needed solving.

I’m equally excited to be going to work for the Mayor of London. In my new role, advising him on business and digital matters, I hope to make a real difference for the people of Tooting and for all Londoners.

London faces a time of great economic uncertainty, and for the sake of our businesses, jobs and family finances it is vital that we work hard to keep London’s economy prosperous, fair and open.
There will soon be a local byelection to elect a replacement for me, who I’m sure will do a great job.

I’d like to say a massive thank you to the people of Tooting for electing me, first in 2010 and then again in 2014. Despite no longer being a councillor, I’ll always do my best by Tooting and its fantastic residents.

One thought on “Ben Johnson steps down as Tooting councillor: “great honour and an absolute pleasure”

  1. Ben – Very sorry to hear you will no longer be our councillor in Tooting ward, but congratulations on your new job. Many, many thanks for all your hard work.

Leave a Reply

